The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy

1981 - 6 episodes 33 minutes each- Color - Mono - 1.33 : 1
British release date: January 05, 1981
US release date: October 30, 1982
British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC)


When the Earth is destroyed a Vogon Demolition Fleet to make way for a new hyperspace bypass, Arthur Dent joins his friend Ford Prefect (who turns out to be a researcher for an electronic reference guide called the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy) for a galactic voyage on which they meet Zaphod Beeblebrox, a two-headed ex-President of the Galaxy, and his human companion, Trillian. Their journey takes them from the remains of Earth to Milliways, the Restaurant at the End of the Universe. Based on a radio play by Douglas Adams.


The Book - Peter Jones
Arthur Dent - Simon Jones
Ford Prefect - David Dixon
Trillian - Sandra Dickinson
Zaphod Beeblebrox - Mark Wing-Davey
Marvin - Stephen Moore
Marvin - David Learner
Eddie - David Tate
Vogon Captain - Martin Benson
Slartibartfast - Richard Vernon
Newscaster - Rayner Bourton
Man in Ocean - Douglas Adams




Director - Alan J.W. Bell

Writing credits

Writer - Douglas Adams
Creator - Alan J.W. Bell


Producer - Alan J.W. Bell
Associate producer - John Lloyd